healthy dried pineapple “candy”

I looked high and low. I looked under the shelves of mangoes and behind rows of bananas, but they were nowhere to be found. Just a few days ago, there were piles and piles of them all over the store. I let the abundance of pineapple fool me into thinking that I could come back anytime and just get more. I was wrong.

I guess I need to move to the tropics. I would not be mad about that.

Pineapple above

Pineapples are an excellent source of many nutrients, like vitamin C, manganese, and folate. They are low in calories, (only 83 calories a cup) and have fiber, which is good for digestion. My favorite thing about them though, is how sweet and juicy and delicious they taste!

Last week, during the days of plenty, I bought 6-7 of these gorgeous fruits and prepared them different ways. Some got cut up and put into the fridge for snacking and adding to salads. Here is a short video of me demonstrating how to chop them. Enjoy!

Some others got dehydrated, and they were AMAZING!!  Here’s how I did it:

Pineapple drying

After drying for 5 hours or so, they were crunchy on the edges, but soft and chewy on the inside. They seriously tasted like candy, but I didn’t add any sweetener — just pineapple!

Dried pineapple

I had dreams of pineapple salsa draped over homemade tostadas, topped with avocado cilantro lime dressing (recipe for the dressing here)…of bags of frozen pineapple to add to tropical smoothies…of a chilly bowl of pineapple banana nicecream on a hot summer evening, but alas. They will have to wait until I can find a store with enough of that sweet, sweet fruit to make my dreams come true.

What are some ways you eat pineapple?

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I hope you found some pineapple. There is nothing better than sweet, fresh pineapple! I have to get a dehydrator. That looks delicious!

    Like

    1. Thank you! And they are very delicious! Addicting, even!

      Like

Leave a Reply

