asian salad

One evening, on a rare occasion of having the house to myself, I decided to try an Asian dressing recipe I found online. This attempt was not a raging success. The dressing recipe called for sun-dried tomatoes, dates, ginger, onion, and sesame seeds. It was a little bland, so I kept adding more ginger and spices, tasting, digging around in my spice cabinet, coming up for air, finally standing in my messy kitchen, starving and still not truly happy with it. It was pretty good, but not quite what I was looking for. So, I am still on the hunt for the perfect oil-free vegan ginger sesame salad dressing. Once I find it, I’ll share it or link to it here. My salad was too pretty not to share anyway, and I’ve since had it with bottled low-fat dressing, and it was super delicious! One of my favorite salads!

Asian salad

vegan asian-inspired salad

 

shredded lettuce, crunchy slivered cabbage, cucumber noodles, sweet red peppers, cilantro, fresh corn cut off the cob, sliced green onions (also delicious would be snow peas, carrots, mushrooms–whatever you want!)

 

Speaking of having the house to myself, in a couple of weeks, that will be my normal routine. Both of my babies will be going off to college, and it’ll just be little ol’ me all day and many evenings, since my hunny works late several days a week. It’s going to take some getting used to for sure, but I will have plenty to keep me busy. I think I need to get a puppy to keep me company though!

 

Have a great week! Be healthy!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Yvette Abild says:

    I love your blog! Your pictures are fantastic and make me want to try your recipes just because they look so pretty! Keep up the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much!! I appreciate that!

      Like

  2. Sydney A says:

    I like the idea of a puppy! If that doesn’t work out, I’ll come over any time to keep you company during the day, and prepare food with you! I’d love to learn how to make some of your recipes hands-on!

    Like

    1. I would LOVE that, Sydney! Great idea!

      Like

Leave a Reply

